The Brussels Office


The role of the Brussels Office is to safeguard the interests of Icelandic local authorities vis-á-vis the European Union and in the EEA co-operation. 

The Office disseminates information on European affairs to Icelandic local authorities and facilitates the participation of municipalities and their regional associations in European programmes and co-operation. The Office also organises seminars and study visits for municipal actors.

Iceland is a party to the EEA agreement which entails full participation in the European Union internal market. As the bulk of European legislation is implemented at the local level it is important to gather timely information on European developments and to promote the interests of Icelandic local authorities in the EU institutions. Furthermore, Iceland's application for EU membership places European affairs in the spotlight, calling for analysis and information on the possible impact of membership for Icelandic municipalities.

The Office represents the interests of Icelandic municipalities in CEMR (Council of European Municipalities and Regions - the organisation of local and regional government in Europe) and the EFTA Consultative Committee (an advisory committee for trade unions and employers' organisations from the four EFTA states:  Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). Furthermore, the Office coordinates the meetings of the EEA/EFTA Forum for Local and Regional Authorities, in co-operation with the Norwegian Association of Local and Regional Authorities and the EFTA Secretariat. The Office also collaborates with the Icelandic Mission to the European Union, the EFTA Secretariat and other bodies promoting Icelandic interests in Europe. 

The Brussels office is located at House of Cities, Municipalities and Regions along with CEMR, EUROCITES and dozens of other regional and municipal offices from the different regions in Europe.

The Brussels Office forms part of the Development and International Relations Division. It is headed by Guðrún Dögg Guðmundsdóttir.


Icelandic Association of Local Authorities

Square de Meeûs 1

B-1000 Brussels